Beirut called the Paris of the East, the pearl of the East and still has a lot of other names. Visit the sights of Beirut, you will immediately plunge into the history of the country.
Mosque of Muhammad al-Amin is located in the heart of Beirut at Martyrs Square, it was built by Prime Minister Rafik Hariri, from 2002 to 2007. According to his wishes, he was buried near the mosque.
After his death, the mosque became known as Hariri mosque, the mosque has opened his son. The area of the mosque is more than ten thousand square meters,
The color of the walls are painted yellow, and the dome painted in blue and gold, combination of colors harmoniously shine in the sun. Throughout the building housed rare decorations, the walls are painted devotional poetry.
The mosque represents a masterpiece of religious architecture, so women had to include a separate entrance. But since 2012, men and women come together in the main entrance. His tour is better to start with this attractions.
Beirut National Museum was founded in 1942 and is located in the south – east of Beirut, the project building was designed by Pierre Leprince-Ringuet and Antoine Nahas, in France. The area of the museum is six thousand square meters.
Museum in Beirut is a historic and archaeological, which is preserved in the collection of about 100 thousand of finds and other historical items. Some of them are exhibited in exhibitions – is 1300 objects, which includes items Bronze and Iron Ages, Hellenistic, Roman and Byzantine periods, as well as the Arab conquest and the Mamluk period. A special place in the exhibition is made of precious stones and ivory. Museum of Beirut is very popular with many tourists, because of the rare items come here with great pleasure. In Lebanon, the excavations take place, and therefore the national museum completes its exhibition items.
Grand Palace, also called the Grand Serail, he was also the headquarters of the prime minister of Lebanon, an area of more than 39 thousand square meters. The title was revived in the 90s, the height of the palace is 25 meters, is located on a hill near the Armenian church in the northern part of the Golden Eagle. The palace at the present time is a blend of 19th century architecture and modern interior.
The building originally consisted of two floors, but after 90s added another floor. Mainly in the palace on the top floor, sitting ministers and their assistants, and the first floor is considered to be a banquet hall, a press center and a patio. In the underground floor there is a parking lot and a special room for the staff.
Sursock Museum, located in the heart of Beirut, where the houses were known to the Lebanese people and the nobility. The museum was built in 1912 and currently belongs to the noble family of Sursock. Externally, the museum is decorated in the style of the Baroque east, with a magnificent staircase and a rich decor. Nicolas Ibrahim Sursock – a Lebanese scientist, owner of the building in 1950 gave it to the state, to organize it in a museum and hold exhibitions. And in 1961 it was the first exhibition at the moment in the museum features over 5000 items of Lebanese culture and modern paintings.
Because of Mzaar Kfardebian, Lebanon called the second Switzerland, is located on the Beirut 46 km. The resort offers 42 slopes, 80 km, with varying complexity and levels. We can there on the spot to purchase everything you need for skiing, since the rental equipment. The holiday season begins with the month of December and ends March. The resort also attracts a variety of tourists for recreation.
Beirut Art Center, is characterized by a modern center in Lebanon, in the industrial part of the city. Engaged in the development and demonstration of local and international art. The very center of a large, it easily accommodate exhibition halls and theaters, bookstores, and much more. Exhibitions are held 4-5 times a year, a wide variety of lectures and of course performances. People with great pleasure to attend this center.
The Archaeological Museum of the American University of Beirut, is the third oldest museum in the Middle East. The museum began its existence in 1868, when Luigi Palma di Chesnola, presented the American University of Cypriot pottery. The museum is located in the same building with the American University in Beirut, near the sea. The museum’s collection includes historic objects from the early Stone Age and ending our days. The museum metal figurines, a collection of terracotta figurines, Phoenician pottery and funerary collection of sarcophagi. The museum collected the whole history of the world that would like to know, for anyone.
Platinum Tower, was opened recently in 2009, the building height of 152 meters and has 35 floors. Feature platinum tower – is its location on the beach. The tower is next to other well-known hotels, Inter Continental, Grand Hyatt and Four Seasons Hotel. Platinum Tower in Beirut associated with luxury and wealth.
Museum of Lebanese Prehistory opened in 2000, in honor of the 125 University St. Joseph. The museum is located on two floors of approximately 350 square meters of area. Initially, in 1988, it was established research center, and then it turned into a museum. The museum’s collections include the bones of humans and animals, stone tools and many other items, these collections have been available only to scientists, but 1990 people can come to the tours.
Beirut itself is very colorful and bright, visiting it and its attractions you’ll want to come back here more than once.
Jeita Caves is a complex of caves near the two united Lebanon twenty kilometers to the north of Beirut. The total length of more than nine kilometers. At the top of the cave water reside and to move around on it is only possible in the boat. At the bottom of the cave hiking pass allowed on special tourist paths that do not destroy the local landscape. It is also interesting that the top of the cave is one of the biggest stalactites in the world, total height of stalactite – 8.2 m.
On the territory of the caves, unfortunately forbidden to take, but at the exit of the complex, you can buy a card with a picture of the cave.
From a geological point of view, it is a tunnel cave-way out of the underground river. Of the nine kilometers of karst caves investigated seven, but the tour has access only to the first 600 meters. Inside the cave the number of stalactites and stalagmites is simply impossible to imagine, they need only uvidet.V one of the caves inside the remains of the foundry. Presumably inside the cave produced edged weapons. Research inner kingdom and the natural beauty of the Lebanese occur today.
What is interesting in flight and Autumn period to visit the caves accessible both levels. The remaining seasons of the lower level is often zakryvayut.K unfortunately, prohibited not only inside the photograph, but also touch and stalactites in the cave itself stalagmity.Popast possible by a tiny cable car, and the return trip can be overcome on a miniature steam train. Just about cave is an interesting zoo, which will be interesting for everyone.
Sacred Valley in northern Lebanon is known that there are remains of one of the first settlements in the world of Christian hermits. Monasteries Kadisha Valley are an excellent example of the combination of ancient architecture and natural landscapes. Not far from the valley of the rare preserved large thickets of cedar, which in the early Middle Ages was the main material for construction. This area is called the protected Horsh Arz al-Rab, which in Arabic means holy forest.
Is Valley Kadisha Valley in a natural gorge carved among the Lebanese mountain small river Kadisha. In this area the rock al Makmal total area of forty square kilometers found many artifacts of human activity. People lived here from the Paleolithic period, also preserved ancient and medieval cultural sites. In the valley of many caves and catacombs, which took refuge from persecution by the Romans early Christians.
Now the valley there are several monastic hermitages, monks belong to the Maronite Catholic Church. The oldest of them – Koynobin, founded by Emperor Theodosius. Monastery of Qozhaya (or Monastery of St. Anthony) – the second oldest in the Kadisha Valley, according to legend, it was founded back in the IV century saint Hilary. For a long time there was a residence of the local patriarchs, in the XVI century in the monastery there was a first in the Middle East printing press. Above, almost at the foot of the monastery of Mar Sarkis is u Bajos, that is named after Sergei and Bacchus. Also of interest are the monastery of Our Lady Hawk and architectural ensembles in rock deprives March. All religious buildings decorated with frescoes, are saved not only these historic buildings of the ancient East and painting them, but also the life of the monks.